The aims of MEDSAC Accreditation are to:

  1. Promote sexual assault/abuse medical and forensic practice that is safe, competent and consistent.
  2. Recognise competence and expertise in an area where a clinician's opinion may have far reaching effects.
  3. Provide evidence of training and expertise for the Police, ACC, Ministry of Health, Ministry for Vulnerable Children Oranga Tamariki and the justice system.

What does MEDSAC Accreditation involve?

Accreditation for doctors and nurse practitioners

Doctors and nurse practitioners can apply for MEDSAC accreditation after they have attended the MEDSAC Initial Adult or Paediatric Training Courses (or equivalent) and seen 4 cases unsupervised*.

MEDSAC Accreditation applications require submission of case notes, references and evidence of Expert Review / MERG and multidisciplinary networking. The application requires approval by the MEDSAC Accreditation Committee.

Accreditation is divided into categories by age group - adult, adolescent and child. Doctors and nurse practitioners may become accredited in one or more of these categories.

For accreditation to be maintained, yearly myMEDSAC CPD requirements must be fulfilled.

An accreditation application is approved by RNZCGP as an Audit of Medical Practice for MOPS allocation - equivalent to 10 points. RACP MyCPD participants can earn up to 3 credits per hour for participation.

* Unsupervised cases - cases where the examination was done without another accredited doctor or nurse practitioner present and without substantial concurrent advice from another accredited doctor or nurse practitioner.

Accreditation for nurses

MEDSAC has a nurse accreditation pathway. Members of MEDSAC can view the pathway via the link below.

Nurse Pathway

Accreditation application closing dates 2022

Deadlines for accreditation application documentation into MEDSAC

Friday 11th February 2022
Friday 13th May 2022
Friday 12th August 2022
Friday 28th October 2022